unable to speak #LukeActs2014

Zechariah said to the angel, “How can I be sure of this? My wife and I are very old.”
The angel replied, “I am Gabriel. I stand in God’s presence. I was sent to speak to you and to bring this good news to you. Know this: What I have spoken will come true at the proper time. But because you didn’t believe, you will remain silent, unable to speak until the day when these things happen.” – Luke 1:18-20

I have been unable to speak many times in my life.

Once when I was getting married. Everything around me just froze and I found myself unable to form words.

Once when I was getting ordained. I felt the hands of my mentors and friends on my shoulders and I found myself mute in that moment.

Once when I found out we were getting children. My wife and I are unable to have children or so we thought. This past year we became foster parents to three amazingly wonderful children with the hope to one day become permanent parents. I remember sitting in the sanctuary crying and then I found myself unable to speak. I still worry and doubt, but Zechariah reminds me to be silent while the Lord works in mysterious ways.

How does God render you speechless?

One thought on “unable to speak #LukeActs2014

  1. I believe I have been silenced by God. It began with a dramatic experience of God’s presence in a charismatic worship service. I was overcome by the power of the Holy Spirit, and ended up on the floor of the worship space–soaking in the majesty of God for an extended period of time. I was conscious. I heard the worship band singing “God’s love endures forever” repeating the phrase over and over again. Then they sang the passage from Acts 2–” Your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,” etc.

    I was on a sabbatical from the ministry at the time, and I emerged from that profound experience not knowing whether I should return to the pulpit. What did that experience mean? I still don’t know. I have wondered whether it was a call to preach or a call to silence.

    For now it is a time of silence. Perhaps some day, God will allow me to preach again. I tremble at the prospect, even as I long for it.

Leave a Reply

